Make your own free website on
The Language of Cub Scouting

The Language of Cub Scouting



Cub Scouting has a language all its own. If you are not familiar with it, below are definitions of many terms you will encounter as you get more and more involved in

the program.



     To earn the rank badges, Wolf and Bear Cub Scouts must complete Achievements found in their Handbooks. The Achievements cover these areas: God,

     Country, Family and Self.

Activity Badges

     There are 20 Activity Badges a Webelos Scout can earn. These are divided into 5 areas: Physical, Mental, Technology, Outdoor, and Community. A pin is

     presented for completion of each Activity Badge.

Arrow of Light

     This is the highest award a boy can earn in Cub Scouting - also the ONLY (non-religious) award from Cub Scouts which can be worn on a Boy Scout


Arrow Points

     Arrow Points are awarded to Wolf and Bear Cub Scouts for completion of Electives beyond the Achievements covered for earning the Wolf or Bear rank

     badge. A Gold Arrow Point is awarded for the first 10 Electives; a Silver Arrow Point is awarded for each successive 10 Electives completed.

Bear Cub

     These are generally third grade Cub Scouts, who work on Achievements in the areas God, Country, Family and Self. Of the 24 possible Achievements, they

     must complete a prescribed amount in each area, for a total of 12. Arrow Points are awarded for work done on the extra Achievements and on various



     Every boy who joins Cub Scouts must first earn the Bobcat badge. Doing this, he learns the seven basic tenets of Cub Scouting: the Promise, the Law of the

     Pack, the sign, the handshake, the motto, the salute, and what Webelos means.

Boy Scout

     A Boy Scout is between the ages of 11 and 18 and belongs to a Troop. He advances through these ranks: Tenderfoot, Second Class, First Class, Star, Life,

     and then Eagle.

Boy Scouts of America

     The Boy Scouts of America is a nationally chartered organization that encompasses Cub Scouts, Boy Scouts, Explorer Units, and Varsity Units.


     This is the group of adult volunteers who "run" the Pack. Any interested adult is welcome to attend Committee meetings. The Committee Chairman is Mr.

     Dennis Despain.


     The Council is an organization of professional Scouters that oversees all Cub Scout Packs, Boy Scout Troops and other units in an area. Pack 422 is part of

     the West Central Florida Council.

Court of Honor

     A Court of Honor is a special awards ceremony. Awards may be presented at any Troop meeting, but there is a special ceremony for presentation of awards

     at a Court of Honor.

Cub or Cub Scout

     A Cub Scout is any member of Boy Scouts in first through fifth grade (or age 7 - 11).


     The Cubmaster is the chief adult volunteer leader. The Cubmaster runs the Pack meetings, and advises all other leaders. The Cubmaster is Bob/Diane



     The Den is a group of Cub Scouts who meet at regular intervals. Ideally, a den consists of 6 to 8 boys who are all working toward the same rank.

Den Leader

     The adult volunteer who is in charge of planning and running den meetings is the Den Leader.

Den Meeting

     Individual Den Meetings are held for each rank level of Cub Scouts. These usually occur at a regular intervals, such as weekly or bi-weekly. Wolf and Bear

     dens work on fun projects, crafts, skits, or some of their Achievements. Webelos dens use this time to work on the various Activity Badges.


     Each Council is divided into a number of Districts. Pack 422 is part of the Calusa District. Mike Baty is our District Chairman, and oversees the activities of all

     Units in the District.

Faith in God

     This award is a religious award that The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints Scouts work towards as Cub Scouts.


     Each level of Scouting has its own Handbook. The Handbook is ESSENTIAL for your Scout, as it spells out the requirements for advancement, as well as

     providing a place to record completion of the same.


     The whole group - all of our dens and families together is called a Pack. The Pack usually meets once every month.

Rank Badges

     The Rank Badges, in order, are: Bobcat, Wolf, Bear, Webelos.


     Each Unit must have a sponsoring organization, such as a church, service club, etc. Pack 422 is sponsored by Our Lady of Lourdes Church in Dunedin, FL.


     The Uniform is the prescribed clothing for any and all official Cub Scout events. In Pack 422, the minimum Uniform consists of a uniform shirt, (with all

     patches), appropriate neckerchief, and blue jeans (or shorts). Webelos Scouts use the "colors" for activity pins. For "casual" events, a Cub or Webelos Scout

     T-shirt and shorts is acceptable.


     Webelos means WE'll BE LOyal Scouts.

Webelos Scout

     These are generally fourth grade Cub Scouts, who work on up to 20 Activity Badges in the den setting. These activities are designed to prepare the boys for

     the merit badge methodology utilized in Boy Scouts.

Wolf Cub

     These are generally second grade Cub Scouts, who work on 12 Achievements, mostly in the home setting. Arrow Points are awarded for work done on a

     multitude of Electives.


     Each individually chartered Pack, Troop, Post or Lodge is a Unit.





Back to Pack 422